POV: Mouthwash

 

 

 

 

 

 

The story below, penned by my best friend for almost 40 years, Kerri Mathis, was the inspiration for this image. It is a true story that just occurred last week. 

 

Life is truly stranger than fiction: Let me set the scene; Family Dollar store, I’m just running in for carpet cleaner. The manager is a short, rotund woman with long stringy gray hair. She looks sixty but in reality might not even be fifty. I’m all the way in the back of the store but on an aisle where I can see the front. In walks man who also looks sixty but is really probably forty. The conversation goes like this:

Female manager directed at man, “Don’t come walking up in here without cleaning up that mess you made behind my store.”

At this point I’m thinking he’s the maintenance guy for the apartments behind the store and he’s left trash or something. Oh no.

The man then says, “I did pick up my things.”

Woman, “You didn’t clean up all your vomit. If you’re gonna be drinking that rot gut and puking in my alley, you’re gonna get a bucket of water and clean it up.”

The man then apologizes and walks to the back of the store. He comes out with the store mop bucket to which the woman says. “You aren’t grossing up my mop with your puke.”

Man, “How am I supposed to clean it then?”

Woman, “Just get some water and pour it on it.”

So he goes to the back of the store again.

The woman looks at me and the cashier and says, “He drinks that cheap green mouthwash and then pukes it all up out behind the store. I swear.” I then paid for my carpet cleaner and left. I am so lucky to have a job where I can not only pay my bills, but drink real alcohol. Wow!

 

-Kerri Mathis

About joypruittphotography

I'm a Texas transplant now living in Idaho. I have a custom photography business and am available for freelance work.
This entry was posted in Points of View. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

