Ride your hobby horse

Neighbor working on this '57 Ford

Today is life-the only life you are sure of. Make the most of today. Get interested in something. Shake yourself awake. Develop a hobby. Let the winds of enthusiasm sweep through you. Live today with gusto.” Dale Carnegie

This is my neighbor. His first car was a ’57 Ford. He found one recently and has been restoring it. Here he is changing the spark plugs. He said to me as he torqued away, “I hope some billionaire doesn’t see this car and offer me $50,000 for it.”

I said, “That’d be okay, ’cause then you could start over and do it all again.”

“I don’t want to start over,” he said, “That’s too much work. I’m ready to go out and get lots of attention with this car.”

This entry was posted in Basic Needs. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ride your hobby horse

  1. smadsen says:

    I think I saw your neighbor parking his car in front of his business this morning. Or, at least, someone who looked very similar with a vintage car that was obviously well loved and cared for. Ah, the memory of first things to make us nostaligic.

  2. smceuen says:

    “Only that day dawns to which we are awake.” -Thoreau

Leave a Reply

