Love, Affection and Belongingness

Love

Maslow again with the third most important need:  Love, Affection and Belongingness. ” When the needs for safety and for physiological well-being are satsified, the next class of needs for love, affection and belongingness can emerge. Maslow states that people seek to overcome feelings of loneliness and alienation. This involves both giving and receiving love, affection and the sense of belonging.”

I’ve thought long and hard about the assignment this week and Maslows Hierarchy of needs. I submit that there can be holes in this model and that this particular need is often glossed over.Yet even if I was hungry, in pain or fearful, the presence of love would make those lack of needs easier to bear. Without love, pain, hunger and fearfulness can be overwhelming.  There are infinite definitions of love, what it is, what it should be and how it  can be interpreted, as I interpret my image submission this week. Consider what love means to you and if you are missing this need in your life, I encourage you to take steps to find it. Sometimes it just means giving it.

About joypruittphotography

I'm a Texas transplant now living in Idaho. I have a custom photography business and am available for freelance work.
This entry was posted in Basic Needs. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Love, Affection and Belongingness

  1. smadsen says:

    This is awesome, Joy. Thanks for posting it – and yes, the sun will shine again soon!

  2. I took my 10 year old daughter to see the Justin Bieber movie yesterday. I had NO idea that the hand shaped like a heart was his “thing”…another basic need: Stay in touch with what the young people are doing!

  3. Pingback: Chapel #8 – Where Do I Belong? – Veejay Wang

Leave a Reply

