Basic Needs, Ode to Duct Tape

Ode to Duct Tape

This entry was posted in Basic Needs. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Basic Needs, Ode to Duct Tape

  1. photojester says:

    You could fix a busted tail light
    You can patch a leaky tire
    Mend the tear on the easy chair
    Or snuff a sparkin’ wire

    Holding up the rearview mirror
    And if my boots should come apart
    Duct Tape fixes everything, except a broken heart

    If your britches start to rip
    A little tape will hold ‘em tight
    It’s holding life together
    Keeping up the Christmas lights

    Steadied up the picnic table
    Fixed your mama’s Cuisinart
    Duct tape fixes everything, except a broken heart
    Duct tape fixes everything, except a broken heart

    You said we’d always stick together
    I thought of you as more than a friend
    And now I see our bond is frayed and weathered
    And now I see my role is at an end

    When the cooler lid broke
    Fixed it so my beer stays cold
    If the plumbing starts to leak
    Silver tape’s as good as gold

    It’s a holding up your picture
    Like a sticky work of art
    Duct tape fixes everything, except a broken heart
    Duct tape fixes everything, except a broken heart

  2. smadsen says:

    I ❤ this so very, very, very much.

  3. masterbias says:

    Ha! Way cool! I like how you have the roll still attached to the heart. 🙂

    Is that poem your own?

  4. photojester says:

    Thanks 🙂 I actually took the poem off of an email my ex-boyfriend sent me. After we broke up I noticed a roll of duct tape he had left at my house. I put it in his mailbox without a note, I recieved the email from him the next day. I am sure he took if off of a web site or something. He was a clever lad.

  5. Duct tape does fix everything . . . well . . . as the poet says, almost everything. Great idea photojester.

  6. smceuen says:

    Knowing where and how you did this only adds to its beauty and charm. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

