My Ivory Tower of Truth

Water

by Ralph Waldo Emerson

The water understands
Civilization well;
It wets my foot, but prettily,
It chills my life, but wittily,
It is not disconcerted,
It is not broken-hearted:
Well used, it decketh joy,
Adorneth, doubleth joy:
Ill used, it will destroy,
In perfect time and measure
With a face of golden pleasure
Elegantly destroy.
About Cliff

Being Leaning Human
This entry was posted in Basic Needs. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My Ivory Tower of Truth

  1. gafrensy says:

    Great shot. Was this film or digital?

  2. masterbias says:

    Thanks!

    Digital (IInfrared Filter)

  3. I love the perspective and the angles on this one, masterbias. It reminds me of some photos I took last spring of wind turbines in the Columbia Gorge. I just lost them about two weeks ago as I’d not saved the photos from my phone onto my computer. The recent system reboot from my carrier caused me to lose everything on my sd card. Moral of the story? BackUp!

    • masterbias says:

      Thanks. Bummer about the lack of backup! I can’t even trust my COMPUTER to be my backup these days. I just send everything to a flickr account and let them be my backup. I even use the flickr upload tool from my phone sometimes. I would love to have/see a great shot of a wind turbine. I would love to get close to one. How did you manage to be so close? Don’t they have fences to keep people out, or are you one of those fence jumpers? 🙂

  4. Love the shot, love the poem. Perfect!

  5. photojester says:

    Once again, Great Shot!

  6. I stuck my phone outside of my car window, slowed down, and shot. Got some great pix. I also pulled off to the side of the highway a couple of times too. I got some that appeared like I was right under them. I’ll probably head that way again this summer, and I’m going to try for more.

    • masterbias says:

      I didn’t intend your comment to influence my photo outing tonight, but wonder if it subconsciously did. I ended up turning on this road that took me toward some newly erected wind turbines. http://www.flickr.com/photos/cliffhanks/5530596451/sizes/l/in/photostream/

      A lot of cloud cover but I was excited to be so close to these monsters. (Just west of Burley)

      • Wow. . .love it. I like that cloudy background and the black appearance of the wind turbine. My photos had blue, blue sky as a background with white wind turbines in the forefront. I am fascinated by them as a source of energy (especially now with the world receiving even more proof of the dangers of nuclear energy. . . was there ever any doubt?). I also find wind turbines fascinating as sculpture.

  7. smceuen says:

    I feel like an ant when I look at this.

Leave a Reply

